My Model Side

Interestingly enough, I have a side of myself I have yet to share with my blog .

I love fashion, there’s no question about it, but how I got into fashion is actually a unique story that took place only a few months ago.

In late April, early May 2014, I started watching re-runs of America’s Next Top Model. Yes….ANTM! And I absolutely fell in love with it!

Watching previous cycles of ANTM was not the first time I was introduced to modeling though. Growing up, I got a lot of, “Oh you’re so tall and skinny, you should be a model,”…and what not. But modeling was never really my thing, well at least not then.

I spent the past thirteen years of my life in a dance studio, studying ballet, tap, gymnastics, jazz, theater, etc. But, with my lean 5’11” frame, I knew finding a career as a dancer would be a difficult one.

Lynda Higgins-Tully Photography Model: Brooke Anderson
Lynda Higgins-Tully Photography
Model: Brooke Anderson

When my dancing career came to an end in March 2014, I knew I needed to find a career and a passion to fill the missing spot in my life.

This is when I started taking the whole “you should be a model” comments seriously. The first step….research!

I dove into researching how to get started in modeling, what to look for, how to take care of myself, watching ANTM episodes and soaking in all of Tyra‘s tips and tricks.

Pretty soon, I found reliable photographers in my area and started getting to work on creating a decent portfolio.

Me: Showing off one of my favorite looks this spring
Photographer: Matt Nichols          Model: Brooke Anderson

Now, only seven months later, I have had some experiences I never thought possible. I have worked with amazing photographers around Kansas City, went to Orlando, FL for a gig, walked for three designers (including Michael Drummond from Project Runway) in Kansas City Fashion Week, and modeled for successful designers.

But, I like to think my career is just beginning- because it is! I have so many plans for my future in both modeling and blogging/journalism.

Photoprapher
Photoprapher: Matt Nichols

B4 (23)ee

I am looking into moving to a larger city, such as Chicago or hopefully New York. I want to be signed my a top agency like FORD Models or Wilhelmina Models, and I want to travel the world.

So there you go. A look into my life and my dreams as an individual. Modeling introduced me to a life I never thought possible, and I’m excited to see where it will take me!

Leave me a comment, and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

